Engadine Valley

Worldwide /  Europe /  Switzerland /  Engadine Valley
Map Loading
in Engadine Valley

Destination Information

The Engadine is a long, high Alpine valley, in the eastern canton of Graubünden, which follows the Inn River until it flows into Austria. It is divided into two parts: The Upper Engadine, from Maloja Pass to Zernez, is fairly wide; its major center is St. Moritz. In the Lower Engadine, from Zernez to the Austrian border, the valley is much steeper and more remote. The famous mountain trains of Rhaetian Railways (RhB) connect St. Moritz with Chur, the capital of the canton. The RhB also connects the Upper Engadine with the Lower Engadine, running from St. Moritz as far east as Scuol.